Join Cubs in Whitley Bay and District

Becoming a Cub Scout in Whitley Bay and District you’ll get to take part in lots of interesting and challenging activities.

    What is Cubs?

    Cub Scouts are young people aged 8 to 10.5 years old.

    Cubs are our second section after Beavers. Don’t worry, you don’t need to have been a Beaver Scout to be able to join Cubs.

      What do Cubs get up to?

      Every week, Cub Scouts gather in groups, called Cub Packs to take part in activities and develop new skills.

      For Cubs, excitement and adventure is key. Here’s just some of the things you’ll get up to as a Cub: 

      • Having fun and going on adventures
      • Being creative and learning new skills
      • Taking part in camps and residential experiences
      • Developing outdoor skills
      • Learning more about the world we live in
      • Helping others
      • Making new friends and working as a team

      As a Cub, you’ll also work toward badges– you could become an expert in something you love or try something new. Book worm, photographer, footballer – we’ve got a badge for everything!

      You’ll also work towards your Silver Chief Scout’s Award. This is the highest award a Cub can earn, and it’s something you work on gradually during your time as a Cub.

       You can find out more about the Cub programme and badges on

      Join the adventure

      If you’d like to join Cubs in Whitley Bay, Cullercoats, Monkseaton, West Monkseaton, Wellfield or Earsdon, or want to find out more, please email or get in touch.

      Contact us